How much does an answering service cost?
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
| Service | Type | Starting price | Free trial | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PATLive | human | $49/mo Pay as you go, $2.99/min; $99/mo for 50 minutes | 14 days | SMBs: legal, medical, home services, real estate | Visit site |
| Ruby | human | $250/mo 50 receptionist minutes/mo; chat from $143/mo | not stated | Solo to growing small businesses; legal, home services, healthcare | Visit site |
| Abby Connect | hybrid | $164/mo Starter: 50 Abby Minutes (human minute = 1, AI minute = 0.5) | Yes (length not stated) | Small offices to enterprise | Visit site |
| Smith.ai | hybrid | $300/mo Starter: 30 calls, $11.50/extra call; AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling | No; 30-day money-back guarantee | Law firms, home services, IT services; solo to enterprise | Visit site |
| Upfirst | AI | $24.95/mo Starter: 30 calls, $1.50/extra call; $20/mo billed annually | 14 days, no card | Small businesses: real estate, law firms, property management, contractors, HVAC | Visit site |
| Rosie | AI | $49/mo Professional: 250 min/mo; Scale $149 (1,000 min), Growth $299 (2,000 min) | 7 days | Solo owners and small businesses | Visit site |
Prices and trials from each vendor's own website, checked 2026-10-29. Plans change often: confirm on the vendor's pricing page before you buy.
Take your monthly calls × average minutes per call. Then compare:
| Calls a month (3 min each) | PATLive PAYG ($2.99/min) | Ruby ($250 / 50 min)* | Smith.ai ($300 / 30 calls, $11.50 extra) | Rosie ($49 / 250 min) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 15 (45 min) | ~$135 | $250 | $300 | $49 |
| 30 (90 min) | ~$269 | needs a bigger plan | $300 | $49 |
| 80 (240 min) | ~$718 | needs a bigger plan | $875 | $49 |
*Ruby’s larger plans are priced on its site; we only list the entry plan we verified. All figures are list prices on 29 Oct 2026.
We do not publish an 'average' because plans are not like-for-like. From published entry plans on 29 Oct 2026: live services were $2.99 a minute (PATLive pay-as-you-go), $99 for 50 minutes (PATLive) and $250 for 50 minutes (Ruby); hybrid Smith.ai was $300 for 30 calls; AI receptionists were $24.95-$99 a month.
Live services pay staff by the hour, so they bill receptionist time. Check whether time is rounded up per call and whether hold or transfer time counts, as this changes the real price.
Only if your calls are long. Smith.ai charged $11.50 per extra call; at 5-minute calls that is $2.30 a minute, cheaper than per-minute services. At 1-minute calls it is much dearer.
Some do, many do not. None of the entry plans we checked showed a set-up fee on the pricing page, but ask before you sign and read the contract terms.