The best answering services for small businesses
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
| Service | Type | Starting price | Free trial | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PATLive | human | $49/mo Pay as you go, $2.99/min; $99/mo for 50 minutes | 14 days | SMBs: legal, medical, home services, real estate | Visit site |
| Ruby | human | $250/mo 50 receptionist minutes/mo; chat from $143/mo | not stated | Solo to growing small businesses; legal, home services, healthcare | Visit site |
| Smith.ai | hybrid | $300/mo Starter: 30 calls, $11.50/extra call; AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling | No; 30-day money-back guarantee | Law firms, home services, IT services; solo to enterprise | Visit site |
| Abby Connect | hybrid | $164/mo Starter: 50 Abby Minutes (human minute = 1, AI minute = 0.5) | Yes (length not stated) | Small offices to enterprise | Visit site |
| AnswerConnect | human | not verified Quote form only | not verified | SMB, legal, healthcare, franchises, MSPs | Visit site |
| Upfirst | AI | $24.95/mo Starter: 30 calls, $1.50/extra call; $20/mo billed annually | 14 days, no card | Small businesses: real estate, law firms, property management, contractors, HVAC | Visit site |
| Rosie | AI | $49/mo Professional: 250 min/mo; Scale $149 (1,000 min), Growth $299 (2,000 min) | 7 days | Solo owners and small businesses | Visit site |
| Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) | AI | $99/mo Business-in-a-Box: 200 voice min/mo, overage ~ $0.25/min; $79/mo billed annually | 7 days, no card | Growing small businesses; agencies on Partner plan | Visit site |
Prices and trials from each vendor's own website, checked 2026-10-29. Plans change often: confirm on the vendor's pricing page before you buy.
| Kind | Who answers | Typical start price (checked 29 Oct 2026) | Best when |
|---|---|---|---|
| Live (human) | A trained receptionist | $49-$250/mo | Callers are upset, complex or high-value (legal, medical, big jobs) |
| Hybrid | AI first, human when needed (or the other way round) | $164-$300/mo | You want lower cost but a person for anything tricky |
| AI receptionist | A voice agent | $24.95-$99/mo | You mostly need messages, FAQs and bookings handled |
PATLive offers pay-as-you-go at $2.99 a minute (from $49/mo) or $99/mo for 50 minutes, with a 14-day trial. It lists 24/7 US-based receptionists, booking, call screening and transfer, and bilingual service included. PATLive says it uses no AI. Integrations listed include HubSpot, Zoho, Salesforce, Google Calendar, Calendly, Clio and Jobber.
Ruby starts at $250/mo for 50 receptionist minutes, with chat from $143/mo. It lists 24/7 live receptionists, 24/7 Spanish/bilingual cover, optional scheduling and HIPAA options. Ruby does not publish a free trial on its pricing page.
AnswerConnect is a 24/7 live answering service with scheduling and bilingual service. It only shows pricing through a quote form, so we could not verify a starting price.
Smith.ai’s Starter is $300/mo for 30 calls, $11.50 for each extra call, and you choose AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling. Live agents are US-based. Extras are priced per call (appointment booking $1.50, Spanish line +$1). There is no free trial, but a 30-day money-back guarantee. Full details in our Smith.ai review.
Abby Connect starts at $164/mo for 50 “Abby Minutes”, where a human minute counts as one and an AI minute as half, and both can work on the same call. It lists English and Spanish and HIPAA options on human calls.
If most of your calls are “are you open”, “can you come and quote” or “please call me back”, an AI receptionist does that for a fraction of the price. Upfirst starts at $24.95/mo for 30 calls; Rosie at $49/mo for 250 minutes; Frontdesk at $99/mo for 200 minutes. See the best AI receptionists and AI receptionist vs answering service.
An answering service picks up your business calls when you cannot. Depending on the plan it takes messages, answers common questions, books appointments, screens calls and transfers urgent ones to you. Live services use human receptionists; AI services use a voice agent.
On 29 Oct 2026, live services started at $49/mo pay-as-you-go ($2.99 a minute) or $99/mo for 50 minutes at PATLive, and $250/mo for 50 minutes at Ruby. Hybrid Smith.ai started at $300/mo for 30 calls. AI receptionists started at $24.95/mo. See our full answering service cost guide.
Both exist. PATLive and Ruby charge by receptionist minute. Smith.ai and Upfirst charge per call. Abby Connect counts a human minute as one 'Abby Minute' and an AI minute as half. Per-call pricing suits long calls; per-minute suits short ones.
The services in this table list 24/7 cover. Some plans let you choose overflow only (when you do not answer) or after-hours only, which keeps usage down.