RingRanked

Smith.ai vs Ruby: which receptionist service is right for you?

Updated 2026-10-29 · Facts checked against vendor websites on the date shown · How we compare

Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.

Short answerRuby is a live-human receptionist service billed by the minute ($250/mo for 50 minutes on 29 Oct 2026), with 24/7 Spanish and HIPAA options. Smith.ai is billed by the call ($300/mo for 30 calls) and lets you choose AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling. Short calls favour Ruby; long calls favour Smith.ai; if you want AI in the mix, Smith.ai.
ServiceTypeStarting priceFree trialBest for
Ruby human $250/mo
50 receptionist minutes/mo; chat from $143/mo
not stated Solo to growing small businesses; legal, home services, healthcare Visit site
Smith.ai hybrid $300/mo
Starter: 30 calls, $11.50/extra call; AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling
No; 30-day money-back guarantee Law firms, home services, IT services; solo to enterprise Visit site
PATLive human $49/mo
Pay as you go, $2.99/min; $99/mo for 50 minutes
14 days SMBs: legal, medical, home services, real estate Visit site
Abby Connect hybrid $164/mo
Starter: 50 Abby Minutes (human minute = 1, AI minute = 0.5)
Yes (length not stated) Small offices to enterprise Visit site

Prices and trials from each vendor's own website, checked 2026-10-29. Plans change often: confirm on the vendor's pricing page before you buy.

Head to head

RubySmith.ai
Who answersLive receptionistsAI-first, hybrid or human-first (US-based agents)
Entry plan (29 Oct 2026)$250/mo, 50 receptionist minutes$300/mo, 30 calls
Extra usageLarger plans on Ruby’s site$11.50 per call
Spanish24/7 Spanish/bilingualSpanish line +$1 per call
BookingOptional scheduling$1.50 per booked appointment
HIPAAOptions listedNot listed in the facts we checked
Integrations“5,000+” claimed, none named on the pricing pageHubSpot, Salesforce, Clio, Zapier, Calendly, Acuity
TrialNot statedNo trial; 30-day money-back guarantee
Also offersWebsite chat from $143/moCall recording and transcription

Pricing break-even

Ruby’s 50 minutes at $250 is $5 a minute. Smith.ai’s 30 calls at $300 is $10 a call. So:

  • Calls averaging 2 minutes: Ruby ≈ $10 a call, same as Smith.ai.
  • Calls under 2 minutes: Ruby is cheaper per call.
  • Calls over 2 minutes: Smith.ai is cheaper per call.

This uses entry-plan list prices; both have bigger plans with different rates.

Choose Ruby if

  • You want every call answered by a person.
  • Your calls are short (messages, transfers).
  • You need HIPAA options or 24/7 Spanish built in.

Choose Smith.ai if

  • You want AI to take routine calls to cut cost.
  • Your calls are long (intake, qualification).
  • You need named CRM integrations like Clio or HubSpot.

Consider instead

  • PATLive: live receptionists from $99/mo for 50 minutes, bilingual included, 14-day trial.
  • Abby Connect: AI and humans on the same call, $164/mo for 50 blended minutes.
  • An AI receptionist if neither price works: see the best AI receptionists.

FAQ

Is Ruby cheaper than Smith.ai?

It depends on call length. Ruby's entry plan was $250 for 50 minutes; Smith.ai's was $300 for 30 calls (29 Oct 2026). If your average call is under about 1.5 minutes, Ruby's 50 minutes covers more calls. For longer calls, Smith.ai's per-call price works out cheaper.

Does Ruby use AI?

Ruby is a live receptionist service. It lists optional AI transcripts, but calls are answered by people.

Which is better for law firms?

Both target legal. Smith.ai lists Clio integration and lead intake; Ruby lists legal among its main markets. Compare intake scripts and integration with your practice management software.

Do both offer Spanish?

Yes. Ruby lists 24/7 Spanish/bilingual cover. Smith.ai offers a Spanish line at +$1 per call.

Sources