AI receptionist vs answering service: which one do you need?
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
| Service | Type | Starting price | Free trial | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Upfirst | AI | $24.95/mo Starter: 30 calls, $1.50/extra call; $20/mo billed annually | 14 days, no card | Small businesses: real estate, law firms, property management, contractors, HVAC | Visit site |
| Rosie | AI | $49/mo Professional: 250 min/mo; Scale $149 (1,000 min), Growth $299 (2,000 min) | 7 days | Solo owners and small businesses | Visit site |
| Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) | AI | $99/mo Business-in-a-Box: 200 voice min/mo, overage ~ $0.25/min; $79/mo billed annually | 7 days, no card | Growing small businesses; agencies on Partner plan | Visit site |
| Smith.ai | hybrid | $300/mo Starter: 30 calls, $11.50/extra call; AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling | No; 30-day money-back guarantee | Law firms, home services, IT services; solo to enterprise | Visit site |
| Abby Connect | hybrid | $164/mo Starter: 50 Abby Minutes (human minute = 1, AI minute = 0.5) | Yes (length not stated) | Small offices to enterprise | Visit site |
| PATLive | human | $49/mo Pay as you go, $2.99/min; $99/mo for 50 minutes | 14 days | SMBs: legal, medical, home services, real estate | Visit site |
| Ruby | human | $250/mo 50 receptionist minutes/mo; chat from $143/mo | not stated | Solo to growing small businesses; legal, home services, healthcare | Visit site |
Prices and trials from each vendor's own website, checked 2026-10-29. Plans change often: confirm on the vendor's pricing page before you buy.
| AI receptionist | Live answering service / virtual receptionist | Hybrid | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who answers | Voice AI | A person in a call centre or remote team | AI first, human for hard calls (or human first, AI overflow) |
| Starting price (29 Oct 2026) | $24.95-$99/mo | $49/mo PAYG to $250/mo | $164-$300/mo |
| Typical allowance | 30 calls to 250 minutes | 50 minutes | 30 calls or 50 minutes |
| Calls at once | Many (several vendors say unlimited) | Depends on staffing | Many on the AI side |
| Hours | 24/7 | 24/7 on most plans | 24/7 |
| Handles upset or complex callers | Weak | Strong | Strong (via the human) |
| Set-up | Minutes to an hour, you write the script | Onboarding call with the provider | Both |
You want the low cost of AI for most calls and a person for the rest. Smith.ai lets you choose AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling. Abby Connect can put human and AI on the same call and counts AI minutes at half rate.
Say you get 60 calls a month averaging 3 minutes (180 minutes):
These are list prices from the vendors’ pages on 29 Oct 2026; your quote may differ. More in AI receptionist cost and answering service cost.
The terms overlap. 'Answering service' traditionally means a call centre that takes messages. 'Virtual receptionist' usually means a remote receptionist who acts as part of your team: answering in your company name, transferring calls and booking appointments. Both can now be human, AI or a mix.
Often, yes, especially on longer calls. Modern voices sound natural, but delays and unusual answers can give it away. Many businesses say up front that the caller is speaking to an AI assistant, and offer a transfer to a person.
AI, by a wide margin at most volumes. On 29 Oct 2026, Rosie charged $49/mo for 250 AI minutes, while PATLive charged $99/mo for 50 human minutes and Ruby $250/mo for 50 human minutes.
Use caution. Legal intake and medical calls can be sensitive and regulated. Many firms in these fields use human or hybrid services, and if you use AI, check the vendor offers HIPAA terms (for US healthcare) and that it transfers anything urgent to a person.