Medical and dental answering services
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
| Service | Type | Starting price | Free trial | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ruby | human | $250/mo 50 receptionist minutes/mo; chat from $143/mo | not stated | Solo to growing small businesses; legal, home services, healthcare | Visit site |
| Abby Connect | hybrid | $164/mo Starter: 50 Abby Minutes (human minute = 1, AI minute = 0.5) | Yes (length not stated) | Small offices to enterprise | Visit site |
| PATLive | human | $49/mo Pay as you go, $2.99/min; $99/mo for 50 minutes | 14 days | SMBs: legal, medical, home services, real estate | Visit site |
| Nextiva AI Receptionist (XBert) | AI | $99/mo 100 interactions, $1.50 each extra | No; 30-day money-back guarantee | Service SMBs: home services, dental, professional services, restaurants | Visit site |
| Allo | AI | $15/mo Solo seat (coming soon); AI Receptionist add-on $32/agent/mo (annual) | 3 days | Teams under 250; restaurants, insurance, real estate, medical offices | Visit site |
| Smith.ai | hybrid | $300/mo Starter: 30 calls, $11.50/extra call; AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling | No; 30-day money-back guarantee | Law firms, home services, IT services; solo to enterprise | Visit site |
Prices and trials from each vendor's own website, checked 2026-10-29. Plans change often: confirm on the vendor's pricing page before you buy.
From $250/mo for 50 receptionist minutes. Lists HIPAA options, 24/7 live receptionists and 24/7 Spanish/bilingual. Healthcare is named among its markets.
From $164/mo for 50 “Abby Minutes”. Lists HIPAA options on human calls, English and Spanish, and human and AI on the same call. Ask how HIPAA applies when the AI handles part of the call.
From $99/mo for 50 minutes, 14-day trial. US-based receptionists, booking, bilingual included, no AI. Medical is named among its markets. HIPAA terms were not in the facts we checked; ask.
From $300/mo for 30 calls. HIPAA was not listed in the facts we checked; ask before using it for patient calls.
Related: after-hours answering, AI receptionist vs answering service.
In the US, if the service handles protected health information for a covered entity, it acts as a business associate and you need a signed Business Associate Agreement (BAA). Ask for the BAA in writing before go-live; a 'HIPAA' badge on a website is not enough.
On 29 Oct 2026, Ruby listed HIPAA options and Abby Connect listed HIPAA options on human calls. Among AI platforms, Retell AI listed HIPAA readiness, Synthflow listed HIPAA, Vapi a HIPAA add-on and Bland AI a BAA on Enterprise.
Yes, technically. Nextiva lists booking, confirming and rescheduling and names dental practices; Allo names medical offices. Check it connects to your practice management system and that HIPAA terms cover the AI part of the service.
Only by following the practice's own written protocol, and anything urgent should go to the on-call clinician or emergency services. Receptionists and AI should never give medical advice.