Smith.ai review: pricing, features and who it suits
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
Some links on this page may be affiliate links: if you sign up through one we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works.
| Service | Type | Starting price | Free trial | Best for | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai | hybrid | $300/mo Starter: 30 calls, $11.50/extra call; AI-first, hybrid or human-first handling | No; 30-day money-back guarantee | Law firms, home services, IT services; solo to enterprise | Visit site |
| Ruby | human | $250/mo 50 receptionist minutes/mo; chat from $143/mo | not stated | Solo to growing small businesses; legal, home services, healthcare | Visit site |
| Abby Connect | hybrid | $164/mo Starter: 50 Abby Minutes (human minute = 1, AI minute = 0.5) | Yes (length not stated) | Small offices to enterprise | Visit site |
| Upfirst | AI | $24.95/mo Starter: 30 calls, $1.50/extra call; $20/mo billed annually | 14 days, no card | Small businesses: real estate, law firms, property management, contractors, HVAC | Visit site |
| Frontdesk (My AI Front Desk) | AI | $99/mo Business-in-a-Box: 200 voice min/mo, overage ~ $0.25/min; $79/mo billed annually | 7 days, no card | Growing small businesses; agencies on Partner plan | Visit site |
Prices and trials from each vendor's own website, checked 2026-10-29. Plans change often: confirm on the vendor's pricing page before you buy.
Smith.ai answers your business calls with a combination of AI and live receptionists. You decide how calls are handled:
Listed features (from smith.ai, 29 Oct 2026): 24/7 live agents, appointment booking, call transfer, lead screening and intake, a Spanish line, and call recording and transcription.
The Starter plan is $300/mo for 30 calls. Every call beyond that is $11.50. Some actions cost extra per call: $1.50 for booking an appointment and +$1 for Spanish.
Because Smith.ai charges per call rather than per minute, longer calls cost you nothing extra. A 1-minute wrong number costs the same as a 10-minute intake call, though Smith.ai’s site should be checked for how it treats spam and sales calls.
Example: 50 calls a month (20 over the allowance), with 20 appointments booked: $300 + (20 × $11.50) + (20 × $1.50) = $560/mo.
See Smith.ai vs Ruby for the closest human-receptionist rival, and the best answering services for small business for the wider field.
On 29 Oct 2026 Smith.ai's Starter plan was $300 a month for 30 calls, with $11.50 per additional call. Add-ons were priced per call, for example appointment booking at $1.50 and a Spanish line at +$1. Check smith.ai/pricing for current plans.
Both. You can choose AI-first, hybrid or human-first call handling. The human agents are US-based and available 24/7 according to Smith.ai.
Smith.ai did not list a free trial on 29 Oct 2026. It offered a 30-day money-back guarantee instead.
Smith.ai lists integrations including HubSpot, Salesforce, Clio, Zapier, Calendly and Acuity.
For AI-only answering: Upfirst ($24.95/mo for 30 calls), Rosie ($49/mo for 250 minutes) and Frontdesk ($99/mo for 200 minutes). For live humans: PATLive ($99/mo for 50 minutes). For hybrid: Abby Connect ($164/mo for 50 blended minutes).